Dawn Montgomery

The Promotional Drain

In #amwriting, Goals, Write Talk on January 27, 2014 at 1:08 am

Keep WritingWelcome to the final Sunday update in the first month of January 2014!

So much to tell you guys. Let’s start with the not-so-good news (I won’t say bad, because it’s NOT bad news…just a little schedule adjustment required).

Angel’s Masquerade was submitted on the 20th for a special submission call. I’d mentioned to both editors involved that my story had moved into novel territory and suggested it might be better for them to pass on my ability to get it in on time. They were awesomely encouraging and really wanted to see it so I nixed a plot thread or two and brought it in under word count and in time for submission.

Two days later I received a revise and resubmit request. 🙂 Turns out they loved the story but it didn’t quite fit the special call so they asked me to go ahead and extend it to the novel I’d originally planned. I spent a good twenty-four hours in a depressed funk. Until my awesome husband reminded me that I’d wanted to extend into a novel back in December. So I should be happy that my instincts were right. He also fed me chocolate. Both of which helped bring me out of self-loathing.

You know, it’s hard to share the bumps in the road with you guys. I only want to give you good news, but I realize that’s not an accurate portrayal of my writing journey, you know? I get asked a lot of question on here and Facebook about the writing journey, and I don’t want to sugarcoat it. At the same time, being negative about it won’t change anything but my motivation.

So positive spin on revise and resubmit:

  1. It’s not the first time I’ve received one. So I know what to expect.
  2. It’s an honor that they wanted to see more of my characters.
  3. I get to write it the way I’d originally intended.
  4. I don’t have to make allowances for the limits of a special theme (although the theme was what inspired the book in the first place).

Negative spin:

  1. I have to rearrange my writing schedule to allow for the additional time in the expansion.
  2. No matter how encouraging they are about wanting to see the book, you can’t help but feel a little disappointed that it wasn’t accepted immediately and snatched up. That’s normal and perfectly acceptable. It’s not a rejection, however. 🙂 Just a delay. And in this world of hybrid publishing, I have other options that weren’t previously available. That, also, means more work. See point #1. LOL.

Action taken: 

  1. Sent the novella to my trusted CPs (critique partners) to make notes for expansion (I’ve received one back. The outside eye has been amazing).
  2. Created a scrivener file for Angel’s Masquerade so I can break up the word document into easy-to-manipulate chunks. Each scene will have it’s own folder. I can add what I need wherever I need to. If you’ve never used scrivener before, I highly recommend it for ease in expanding your stories, writing novels, world building notes, etc.

Great things that happened this week:

sunshineawardMenage Nominee

  • Turned in Angel’s Masquerade.
  • Completed two rounds of edits on Thunder and Roses (post line edits and post proof edits)
  • Had a huge giveaway from the 17th-24th of January
  • Received the Sunshine Blogger Award from the awesome Audrey King (will be doing the Sunshine Blogger update at the end of the month).
  • Hit 1000 Likes on my Facebook Author Page
  • Celebrated my birthday on January 24th.
  • Creating a bingo card for the Naughty Book Club. I adore them.
  • Halloween Heat II, an anthology I was in with Selena Illyria and Rachel Firasek, was nominated for Fan Choice of Best Menage Anthology 2013.
  • Started a promotion countdown on the 20th for the Thunder and Roses upcoming release. New images every day with quotes from the book. Note: the 1 Day to release image is subject to change without notice.

TR Digital 8DaysTR Digital 7DaysTR Digital 6DaysTR Digital 5DaysTR Digital 4DaysTR Digital 3DaysTR Digital 2DaysTR Digital 1DayTR Digital Announcement


#ROW80 update


ROW80Logocopy

Goals for January: 

Finish the following:

  • Angel’s Masquerade (35k novella) – Finished and submitted 20 Jan 2014. Bad news aside, I’m so proud of the work I put into it. Another 20k and it’ll be exactly what I’d originally envisioned.
  • Sex and Magic proposal (1st 3 chapters, plus synopsis of other books in the series) – Working on the synopses for the proposal. First three chapters are in edits. 
  • Silver Tongued Devils (25k novella) – Chapters 1-3 in progress. My initial drafts are more like extended outlines, so I’m filling in all the goodies. 
  • Shift the NightDark Talisman (25k novella) – Nope. off my radar until further notice. 
  • Dragons Never LieWTF Dragon (20k novella) – 5k into it.
  • A Pirate’s Bride (4k short story) – Finished January 4th
  • Final edits for Thunder and Roses (releases 28 January 2014) – Finished. Received post proof edits. Finished those. Did that this week. 

So, half the list completed. Not bad considering the insane amount of stuff I’ve done this month.

Coming this week:

  • Submit Sex and Magic proposal by January 31st
  • Finish the first three chapters of Silver Tongued Devils
  • Complete the promotional items for Silver Tongued Devils
  • Begin Antonio’s book
  • Celebrate the release of Thunder and Roses on Tuesday.
  • Get through chapter two on Dragons Never Lie
  • Catch up on my ROW80 Sponsor duties.

Lessons learned this week: 

  • Promo drains me to the very limit. Even having the promo images ahead of time, I was constantly bombarded with the urge to check and see if it had been shared, make sure I’d commented my thanks, and continued from there. I found this to be the case during Madeline’s blog tour and the big giveaway contests this past week. I’m just wore to the bone and slowly recovering from those four or fives days of burnout from the week before.
  • The days of me being able to wrangle a story length down to meet insane deadlines may be behind me. My head just doesn’t work that way any more. I get really irritated when I know there’s more story there (and memories of way too many “I wanted to see more of the world/characters/story” reviews stick with me). It’ll save me heartache in the long run if I just write what I want to read and go from there. No more compromising on word length to fit a special submission call. I’ll continue to let the calls inspire me. If the book gets done in time, and under word count maximums, I’ll submit it. Otherwise, I’ll submit it the regular way.

I’m part of a great motivational writing group known as A Round of Words in 80 Days. Click here to find out how other did this week and here if you want to become a part of it!

That’s it for me. What about you?

  1. I’ve had more than one review say “I wish the story had been longer…” I’m going to try and learn more of Scrivener. I have Scrivener for Dummies which should help. I’m still trying to get my brain to work with me now that I’ve had to readjust my writing. This post has really helped me. Thanks so much, Dawn!

    • Tambra, it’s so frustrating, I know. Your brain used to work one way and now it works another. Luckily we can do it. Right? I’m glad it helped. I never know if it will or not so it’s awesome to know I’m not alone out there.

      I haven’t used Scrivener for Dummies, but there are a TON of Scrivener tutorials on YouTube now. Definitely check them out!

  2. I love Scrivener! I also took an online class with Gwen Hernandez, which really helped me use more features of the software.

    Sounds like a great week for you overall! You’re making a lot of progress this round. Keep up the writing and editing! Here’s to another productive week. 🙂

  3. For me it sounds totally positive – they both want what you want, and they want your work! I’m sure there aren’t many people who can boast about being in that position. Happy revising!

    In terms of the “promo drain”, I think having set times where you check is the best bet. You don’t have to be available 24hrs of the day, but showing you’re acknowledging regularly earns you brownie points.

Leave a Reply

