Dawn Montgomery

CampNaNoWriMo April 2013 Day 27

In #amwriting on April 27, 2013 at 7:19 pm

It’s done. Done. Done. Done. Done. I validated at 5am or so this morning.

Day 27 and FINAL stats:

TR starting word count at the beginning of the month: 47,171

TR ending word count:  72,565

Total count for the month: 25,394 (25k to go)

FH starting word count at the beginning of the month: 0

FH ending word count: 18,215

Total count for the month: 18,215 (50k to go)

Silver Tongued Devils beginning: 0

Silver Tongued Devils end of the month: 9,633

Total count for the month: 9,633 (2k to go)

The Beast Within beginning: 0

The Beast Within end of the month: 2,500

Total count for the month: 2,500 (Story complete)

RD beginning: 0

RD end of the month: 3,689

Total count for the month: 3,689

 

Surprisingly enough, the word count validation software on the CampNaNoWriMo site was almost spot on. My numbers and theirs split off at some point.  Since the gap between what I have and what they validated makes no difference in my goal for the month…I’m not sweating it.

My largest productivity happened when my writing partner and I were waiting on Beta Readers to get back to us on TR’s first five chapters. It took a little over a week. In that time I couldn’t even look at the book out of panic (and/or a downward spiral of self criticism). TR is a novel unlike any I’ve tackled before so my nerves are on edge when feedback is pending. 🙂

In that week and a half or so I wrote FH’s first four chapters without an outline or anything but the sheer desperation to move back into familiar territory for a while. Silver Tongued Devils was a writing challenge by Ditter Kellen. I work on it during the weekend, and so far it’s coming along nicely. 🙂

The Beast Within is a submission to a Cleis Press Anthology call. We’ll see how it goes. I have a day or two of edits and then it’s off.

RD is something I work on in halting steps. It’s an Urban Fantasy an editor has requested after sneaking a peek at the first chapter. It’s due at the end of May and will become my weekend project once Silver Tongued Devils is complete.

It’s good to be writing again. I also like having the week days for the big novel and the weekends for novellas and shorts. It’s working out well.

 

So that’s it folks. NaNoWriMo in April is complete. I did a lot more than I though I had. Pleasant surprise since I was sure I hadn’t done well at all.

Hope you meet your goals and good luck with the rest of the CampNaNoWriMo session.

 

Leave a Reply

