Dawn Montgomery

CampNaNoWriMo April 2013 Day 1

In Challenges on April 1, 2013 at 10:56 pm

I have multiple writing sessions throughout the day. This is the first time I’ve decided to keep track of my writing online so some new-to-writing friends can see how it works for me throughout the day.  Welcome to the new followers.

Day 1:

Session 1: Started at 0033 (12:33 am). Websites updated as promised before I started writing. I double checked the launch on the CampNaNoWriMo site. Since this month allows you to write on something old or new, I’m continuing rewrites on Thunder and Roses this evening. As I read through my first draft I am struck, as always, how it’s more like stage directions (blocking) than actual emotional investment in the characters. I have to layer in the five (or more) senses at a minimum.

Session stats:

TR starting word count: 47171

TR ending word count: 49188

Ended on a good note. I like what I’ve done so far with the book. The rest of the morning (after I wake up again) will be merging my writing partner’s new content into this chapter. She and I will be on the phone working through most of it.

Session 2: started at 0915. Major plotting hurdles taken care of with Ditter. We worked through some critical character building scenes.

Session 3: 1730-1900 (5:30-7pm) Speedwriting (word wars, timed writing sessions, etc) in the Insanowrimo chat room. A bunch of fellow campers decided to keep the chat word war tradition so I let them know I’d be there at 1730.

Session 4: Late night Speedwriting (word wars, timed writing sessions, etc) with the fabulous Lexxie Couper. She and I get together most weeknights (virtually) and write until our fingers fall off. It’s fantastic fun.

Session stats:

TR starting word count: 50171

TR ending word count: 50601

Total word count for the day: 3430 (3444 by the time this post was completed. I had a paragraph or two to finish).

Day end notes:

Good start to the month. It’s nice to be on track again. Thunder and Roses is closer to submission so I’m super excited about that. There is no time to actually keep track of start and stops in the middle sessions. So I think I’ll  do what I always do, jot down the beginning word count for the day and then the ending word count. It’s a PITA to track more than that. Not bad for the first update. 😀

Dawn
Keep Writing

  1. […] CampNaNoWriMo April 2013 Day 1 (The Write Way, My Way) […]

Leave a Reply

