Dawn Montgomery

2012 Summary

In Write Talk on January 3, 2013 at 10:05 pm

2012 was a year of insanity and firsts.

Firsts:

  1. First as a Full time writer
  2. First Print Book Released (Halloween Heat Menage)
  3. First Novel Released (Primal Hunger)
  4. First Best Seller at All Romance Ebooks (No Dragon, No Problem)
  5. First book in Amazon’s top 100 (FoxFire)
  6. First successful writing collaboration of my career (Ditter)
  7. First Self-Publishing venture (FoxFire)

If you want to see the entire history, click after the jump.

Here’s my year end summary:

January

  • Jan 16th became a full-time writer (day after I began terminal leave for the US Air Force)
  • Moved family from Anchorage, Alaska to San Antonio, Texas

February

  • Released my first book, Primal Hunger, with Ellora’s Cave the same weekend we have to drive to Dallas to pick up our car
  • Got the kids re-enrolled in school, found a place to live, etc.
  • First big household shipment arrives from Alaska.
  • February 27th became a civilian once again

March

  • Sold No Dragon, No Problem to Changeling
  • Joined the fabulous According to Ditter reader’s group
  • Sold short story under another penname. YAY!

April

May

June

  • Once Upon a Dragon Releases from Changeling
  • Spent half of June with my Mom. She was feeling a little under the weather

July

  • First 4th of July as a Veteran. Lots of firsts this year. 🙂
  • My Mom’s health declined and I had to be with her during two of three major heart attacks and surgeries

August

  • Mom’s condition stabilized and I was able to be home with my family

September

October

  • Finished Haunting Melody with Ditter. Submitted it to a publisher for consideration (Our first book!)
  • Halloween Heat II releases with my short story Witchvine Seduction. I’m partnered with the incredibly talented Selena Illyria!
  • Halloween Heat Menage print book (my first!) releases
  • Ditter and I polish up and finish FoxFire

November

  • FoxFire releases from Amazon.
  • FoxFire reaches #31 on Amazon’s Gothic Romance top 100.

December

  • Ditter and I were on Radio Kenai on the Tom Randell Daily Show.
  • Rookery Cove: Volume 3 Anthology (with my story, Ocean’s Call) Releases with Lacey Savage, Kira Stone, Tuesday Morrigan and myself
  • Haunting Melody receives a revise and resubmit request. The editor wants us to expand it! WOOHOO!
  • Another novel received a full request.

And that wraps up 2012. What. a. year. There’s a ton of other craziness involved in the year, but I don’t want to bore you with the details. 🙂 2013 is looking amazing so far. All this hard work with Ditter is really paying off. We’ve got an exciting lineup for you!

And that leads us here.

Check back for more on what’s in store…2013 will be a year to remember!

Leave a Reply

