Dawn Montgomery

Life, lemons, and NaNo

In #amwriting on November 6, 2012 at 12:06 pm

What is it about NaNoWriMo? November is already a busy month with Americans celebrating Thanksgiving, tons of prep for the holidays (Black Friday sales and Cyber Monday sales!!!), and then we throw in National Novel Writing Month. I love NaNo. Ignore the nay-sayers. Trust me fellow writers, the negative will always be there. Learn to ignore it now.  Who are they to tell you this can’t be done? Keep your chins up and keep writing. This is your personal marathon, and the negativity are just extra weight you need to leave behind.

My NaNoWriMo count is lower than expected this year, but I have some really good reasons. 😀

  1. I was contracted for a writing job that will take up the rest of this week
  2. Witchvine Seduction released in print in the Halloween Heat Menage Anthology (YAY FIRST PRINT!!)
  3. I’m submitting a story for EC this week with my fabulous writing partner, Ditter.
  4. Ditter and I are finishing up Fox Fire this week.

As it stands, I’m working on Rising Tide when I have time…which isn’t much time, actually. 😀 I am diligently writing, however. My counts for the day are greater than 10k. Let’s just hope that will continue with my NaNo book once this week of crazy is over!

Today’s Stats:

Total Wordcount: 8245
Pages written today: 3
Time: 8:00 am – 9:00 am
Sessions: 1 @ 1 hour, no breaks

I plan to write more later tonight, but it will depend on this next round of writing I do.

Now back to my other projects.

*Image from Lynn Viehl’s photostream. It’s a banner she created in 2009.

  1. NaNo has been a real blast. I’ve entered two this year and see you’re doing mighty fine, nearing the finish line. Wooot. When are you releasing for Etopia? I’m set to release in January. Isn’t this the ride of a life? So much to be thankful and mindful in such times. Namaste.

Leave a Reply

