Dawn Montgomery

Sinfully Wicked with Tina Donahue

In Write Talk on April 2, 2012 at 12:55 am

Today I have the lovely and vivacious Tina Donahue with me. Her books are scorching hot, and I do mean HAWT! So please give her a warm welcome!  (Did I mention she has a contest as well?) Enjoy!

xoxo,

Dawn

How I Got to be Sinfully Wicked

by Tina Donahue

I didn’t always write erotic romances.

When I first decided I wanted to write for a living, I tried my hand at thrillers. I’ve always been a huge fan of Lawrence Sanders. His Love Songs and Caper are two of the best novels I’ve ever read. My god, that man had style. I loved him. I wanted to be him.

I wrote a number of thrillers with two of them getting me New York agents that were eager to represent me. Unfortunately, none of that initial interest panned out. I thought I was doomed.

My current agent, who is much, much wiser than I am (thank goodness) suggested I try my hand at writing romances. After all, my thrillers had very moving love stories in them as integral parts of the plot.

I gulped at his suggestion. I may have even gasped at having to try a new genre, but I thought – why not. I love romances. Kathleen Woodiwiss has always been one of my favs. Not that I was about to commit to an historical. I wasn’t that assured.

I studied the market and started to write. My first effort wasn’t what I’d expected…a romantic comedy. My friends know I have an irreverent sense of humor and did it ever get a work out in my first title. However, I still wasn’t certain of how it would come off to my agent or an eventual publisher, so I wrote two more. When I finished the last of the three, I sent it off to my agent and four days later I had a contract not only for it but my brand new editor wanted to know if I had any more romantic comedies. I did…the other two I’d written but had been afraid to submit to my agent. In one week, I’d sold three novels. Wow.

And thus, my romance writing career was born. I stayed in romantic comedy for awhile, but then the erotic scene was exploding. My editor asked if I’d be willing to write something like that. Always game, I plunged right into the subgenre. My stories got hotter, my fantasies wilder, which brings me to where I am now – ménages

My first ménage SiNN was released last year by Ellora’s Cave. Sinfully Wicked, which just came out a few days ago (also from Ellora’s Cave) is my second contemporary ménage. And it’s even hotter than SiNN. 🙂

For me, it wasn’t easy to reconcile a woman loving two men equally or for the guys to be willing to share her. But my characters spoke up, told me what’s what and I listened to them. Glad I did. 🙂

Here’s the blurb.

Two brothers—one woman—unforgettable passion…

Years before Nikki fell in love with Mitch and Connor, betraying them as only a high school girl could. Now, she’s back and needs their help.

Powerful and commanding, Mitch has never stopped craving Nikki. Connor hungers for her as badly, but isn’t ready to forgive. If she needs some fast cash by working at their gentlemen’s club, she’ll have to audition by stripping for them.

Aroused by their shameless scrutiny, Nikki’s willing to do whatever it takes to be near them again…even being punished in the BDSM room or starring in one of Connor’s erotic films. Mitch won’t have it, unless he and Connor are the ones mounting and enjoying her.

On a sultry weekend, Nikki surrenders to their lust, dominance and exquisite discipline, reawakening their timeless bond and the beginning of forgiveness.

Buy Link (with excerpt): http://www.jasminejade.com/p-9983-sinfully-wicked.aspx 

Tina Donahue is an award-winning, bestselling novelist in erotic, paranormal, contemporary and historical romance for Ellora’s Cave, Samhain Publishing and Kensington. Booklist, Publisher’s Weekly, Romantic Times and numerous online sites have praised her work; she has reached finals and/or placed in numerous RWA–sponsored contests. Three of her erotic novels were named finalists in the 2011 EPIC competition. Sensual Stranger, her erotic romance, was chosen Book of the Year 2010 (erotic category) at the French review site, Blue Moon reviews. The Golden Nib Award at Miz Love Loves Books was created specifically for her erotic romance Lush Velvet Nights; and Deep, Dark, Delicious (erotic romance) recently received an Award of Merit in the RWA Holt Medallion competition (2011). Tina is featured in the 2012 Novel & Short Story Writer’s Market. She was the editor of an award–winning Midwestern newspaper and worked in Story Direction for a Hollywood production company.

Email: tina@tinadonahue.com

Website/blog: www.tinadonahue.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/tinadonahue

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000458023097

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000458023097

*** CONTEST ***

 

To celebrate the release of Sinfully Wicked, I’m offering a contest. One lucky commenter on this blog will have her choice of one of my following ebooks**:

  1.  Adored – RWA award-winning; EPIC 2011 Finalist; 4 Stars RT 
  2. Deep, Dark, Delicious – EPIC 2011 Finalist; Holt Medallion Award of Merit
  3. Lush Velvet Nights – EPIC 2011 Finalist; Golden Nib Award
  4. In His Arms – SIX 5 Star Reviews; 4 Stars RT
  5.  Sensual Stranger – 2010 Book of the Year (erotic); 4 Stars RT
  6.  The Yearning – Top Ten Bestseller
  7. Take Me Away – #1 Pick, Miz Love Loves Books 
  8. Unending Desire – Best Book Rating LASR

** Winner chosen at random on April 6.**

  1. […] my Sinfully Wicked blog tour takes me to Dawn Montgomery’s site where I’m talking about how I got to be so sinfully wicked, and I’m also offering a […]

  2. Thanks for inviting me here today, Dawn!! 🙂

  3. Another great interview. I’m really enjoying the circuit with you

  4. I am so moving this up on my tbb list. This sounds very yummy. I love menage stories. Thanks for the great blurb and for switching to romance 🙂

  5. Thanks so much for the great blurb and interview. I am so glad you switched to romance Tina! I am definitely moving this up on my tbb list.

  6. Sinfully Wicked is just my style! I love menages. Your writing is expressive and I will want to buy your books. Thanks for the introduction. Unrepentent Book addict here!!

  7. Hey, spmcbee1 and slinkydennis – thanks so much for stopping by and leaving such great comments – good luck in the drawing! 🙂

  8. Sinfully Wicked is enticing. I love menage literature and will want to purchase more of your books. Thank you for the contest and letting us get to know your style.

    susanhoward.1969@yahoo.com

  9. Tina your books are awesome. Congratulations on the new release. Tore923@aol.com

  10. Congrats on you new release! That cover is Hot! Sizzling ! lol
    Thank you for writing such wonderful stories and “The Yearning” will always be one of my favorite paranormal romances of all time. I fell in love with Jasmine and Mike. I hope you will one day tell the story of Jasmine’s siblings as they were great supporting characters in the tale…*S*
    Wishing you your continued success!

    Darcy
    pommawolf @hotmail.com

    • Hey, Darcy – thanks so much for your wonderful comments. 🙂 I love Jasmine and Mike too and maybe someday I will have a sequel. Thanks for giving me the idea. 🙂

  11. I love the books I have read so far. I would have a hard time selecting one book if I won! LOL!

  12. What a wonderful success story, Tina, and I am thrilled that you poked you toe into the erotic romance market. I loved Sinn, and just picked up my copy of Sinfully Wicked. Now I just need my household to run itself for the next few hours, lol.

    caity_mack at yahoo dot com

  13. Hey, Cathy!! Glad you’re taking time to relax – hope you enjoy Sinfully Wicked as much as I enjoyed writing it!! 🙂

  14. Dear Tina,

    I want to congrat you for your new book and very nice interview I was able to learn about you and your writting I wish you a wondeful week with a lot of joy and sun
    and great success on your new book
    Cheers

  15. It’s so interesting to see how you came to write erotic romances. I also enjoy your sense of humor. Great interview!

  16. Hello Tina & Dawn,

    Thank you Dawn for hosting Tina Donahue as your Guest Blogger on your site, The Write Way, My Way, today….Thank you Tina for taking the time out of your busy day to spend with your Fans & sharing with Us your recent release, “Sinfully Wicked”, which I’d like to Congratulate You on writing another Wickedly 😉 Erotic Book.

    I just LOVED your Guest Post, “How I Got to be Sinfully Wicked”. As much time I have spent on your website & as many Blog Site I have Fan Stalked LOL on, I has no idea that when you first decided to write for a living, you started by writing Thrillers, then went into Romantic Comedies. I learned something new today. 🙂 It’s a good thing that I follow you on your Tour then. LOL

    Your Fans are soooo grateful that you ventured into the sub-genre of Erotic Romance & Menage. WoooHooo it’s soooooo Great that your Fans get to Live out our Wildest, Ultimate Fantasies through your writing, OMG you sure know what makes Us HOTTTTTT!!!!!!! Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!!!!!

    When I first read, then & re-read LOL “SiNN” it was soooo Scorching HAWT, I was fanning myself just to cool off!!! 😉 From the first page of SiNN, I was so captivated, I couldn’t stop reading until the very last page, and then I wished there was MORE!

    BUT now comes “Sinfully Wicked” Whewww, Tina you COMPLETELY out did yourself!!!! Your new ménage sounds sooooooo Smokin’ HOT, it’s going to be overheating my eReader……but I sure Don’t mind AT ALL!!!! Overheat Away!! LOL 😉

    I read the Excerpt of Chapter 1 on JasmineJade…..Ohhhhhh *swoony sighs* I soooooo want to be Nikki…PLEASEEEEE!!!!! OMG to have two HOT Alpha Males, Fraternal Twins at that (WOW that’s so drool-worthy), Mitch and Connor, all to Myself!!!! Just hose me down with ICE COLD Water right NOW because “Sinfully Wicked” is panty-melting HOTTTTT!!!! & Your Cover Art is so Erotically Sensual, you can actually feel the Passion between them!!!!!! Definitely the BEST Cover Art yet & I’m sure it will be the Best, Hottest, most Sensually Naughty Romance you have written to date!!!! This is going to be a 5++++ Rating, I can’t wait to read your new release Tina.

    I would very much appreciate the opportunity to be considered in your very generous giveaway. Thank You!

    Take Care Tina, Have a Great Week & Stay Naughty 😉
    PaParanormalFan (Renee’ S.)
    paranormalromancefan@yahoo.com
    http://paparanormalfan.wordpress.com

    • Renee – hi!! Wow, what a lovely comment – I’m thrilled to have you here.

      I’m so glad you liked SiNN. I truly enjoyed writing it. But I have to say, Sinfully Wicked is even hotter (if that’s possible!).

      Hope you have a wonderful week – and good luck in the drawing!! 🙂

      • WoooHooo I can’t wait to read “Sicfully Wicked”, you keep amazing me with every Book that you write, that’s why I’m such a BIG Fan!

        Thank you for taking the time to comment to me. 🙂 That was very sweet of you.
        Wishing You All the Best,
        Renee’

    • Renee, your comments always light up my day – thanks so much for stopping by!! 🙂

      • I’m soooo glad Tina because You always Heat Up my Nights everytime I open up one of your Books. 😉 LOL I’m sooo Bad, aren’t I??? 😉 LOL

  17. Whoever gets any of your books should be happy camper. I had the same experience you did, but mine was two books in two days. After three years of nothing but rejections your first acceptance is a tremendous thrill…. Lots more success with your wonderful writing. Jean

  18. Hey, Jean – I know what you mean – that first phone call (or email) saying you’re goling to be a published author is like nothing else in this world. 🙂

    Much success to you too with your wonderful novels!

  19. I absolutely love your books!!! I can’t wait to read this one! 🙂
    -Amber
    goodblinknpark@yahoo.com

  20. That is one heck of a cover and sounds like one interesting read!

  21. Thanks for inviting me over, Dawn!! The book sounds super steamy…will check it out! ❤

  22. Tina & Dawn,
    Congratulations!!! I am looking forward to getting to read a new author – it’s always so exciting. Your imaginations overwhelm me.

    Paula

  23. Hi Tina and major congrats on the the release. The cover alone sold me on the book.

    Marika
    maw1725@gmail.com

  24. […] you to all the amazing comments on Tina Donahue’s Sizzling Post. I couldn’t have asked for a warmer welcome to our fantastic guest! Thanks to our random […]

Leave a Reply

