Dawn Montgomery

Time to be Brave

In #amwriting, Write Talk on March 24, 2012 at 4:58 pm

Every author has an Achilles Heel to suffer. No book is the same, but over the years I’ve noticed that I have problems with one thing…the beginning.  Some authors need a title, or character names, the ending, or a middle scene to get started. Not me. I need that key opening scene.

Here’s the rub…I usually end up deleting most of the first chapter and changing it by the time it’s done. So why suffer through making that first chapter perfect? I, honestly, don’t know. Crazy, right?

A hard deadline is approaching, and I’m sweating it. Not because I’m slacking, but because there is something about the beginning of this book that I don’t like, and I can’t figure out what it is. It’s in my every waking (and sleeping) thought.

Writing those first words on a blank page is one of the toughest things I’ve ever done. No joke. And I’ve done some pretty tough things in my life. I really do sweat it. Doing it again for the next book…and the next…well, that’s just gotta be crazy. 🙂

I love writing. I love getting to know my characters, the stories of their lives, the workings of their mind…I love putting them in near-impossible situations and learning how they get out of them.

I just have to get those first words down.
Do you have a hang-up that gets you down?
Back to the writing cave for me.

Keep Writing!

Dawn

  1. Good luck!

    Mine’s the scene just before the black moment, when the book’s about 2/3s done. I have to gear myself up to it every time. Walk away, think, ruminate, cogitate, even edit the whole wip up to that point. Once I’m ready to tackle it, the end of the book comes fast. It’s just getting my brain to that zone in the first place.

    And yes. Writing? We’re crazy

  2. Best of luck, Dawn, hope you figure it out soon!

    Mine is definitely the titles – trying to come up with something original that really works just always draws blanks from me.

    • Thanks Emily! I’ve met several people who tell me that. I have ridiculous working titles that make me grin while I’m writing them so I don’t feel anxiety until the end about an actual title. 😀

Leave a Reply

