Dawn Montgomery

Aha! Lightning DOES strike twice!

In #amwriting, Goals on February 1, 2012 at 1:41 am

Remember when I was sighing in contentment about finally being settled? I was so happy to be out of hotels and done with traveling.

Then lightning struck…again. The first time was when we had to move out of a hotel (with only 12 hour’s notice) because of an overbooking incident (several other families were in the same boat).

The second strike happened yesterday. My husband wakes me up to say (very cheerfully) “Our car is here, honey! We just have to drive 5+ hours to pick it up!”

Long story short…today is another road trip. In less than 5 hours we’ll be on the road in a rental car to drive from San Antonio to Dallas where we will pick up our car (hoping it’s all good from Alaska), turn in the rental, then get a hotel room for the night. We’ll return sometime Thursday evening.

So…once again, yours truly is packing up the writing goods and hauling it off to the ends of the Earth. I had just got settled (one day…I had one. single. day.), and now BAM! I’m happy to be getting the car. Really. I’m just not looking forward to another long trip this close to so many others. On the bright side…we’re packed!

Looks like I’ll be finding a nice obscure table in the first floor of the next hotel so I can snatch some writing time.

Okay, mini whine-fest over. 😉

On the writing front:

  • Destitute and Undead is now crawling at 6k. Too many distractions. I’ll kick it in the butt during today’s trip.
  • Spent a lot of time on promotion for Primal Hunger. The 3rd of February can’t come fast enough. WOOHOO!

That’s it for me these past couple of days. I’ll catch up on your blogs this weekend.

This is a BLOG HOP. Click HERE for other awesome Round of Words in 80 Days updates.

Keep Writing!

Dawn

  1. I know a little how you feel. Work has just started again, and now I have to fit my writing and procrastination into 4-5 hours each night between the all time consuming basic necessities of living.

    Good you can write while in vehicles though. I just have to look at a word and I want to vomit…

    • *hugs* I wish you all the luck in switching up your schedule.

      I can’t write consistently in vehicles. Most of it has to be longhand. It’ll be easy to transfer once we get to the hotel. My brother gets carsick if he tries to read or recline. He’s miserable on road trips unless he’s driving.

      Good luck with the rest of your week!

  2. Hang in there, it will all sort out eventually. Look at it all as research for your next writing venture. 🙂

    • LOL. Thanks. I’ve spent most of my past career in and out of hotel rooms, while traveling to the ends of the Earth. I was being tired and cranky because I was looking forward to some peace without travel. 😉

      I’ll take a ton of pictures.

      Keep Writing!
      Dawn

  3. Hope you enjoy San Antonio. My husband’s family lives in a teeny tiny town about 45 minutes south west. I love the Riverwalk.

    I know how you feel about the move. We move every few years due to the military. Roots? what on earth is that? But I love the chaos as it helps me stay focused.

    • I love San Antonio, and can’t wait to take the kids to see the sites. The Riverwalk is just gorgeous.

      LOL. This is the end of my military career, so I understand. 🙂 San Antonio will likely be our final destination, but you never know what the world will bring tomorrow. 😉

      Keep writing!
      Dawn

  4. Oh my. Well, one positive thing is that you might be able to get some writing done in the car. Soon you’ll be settled. It’s just a bumpy ride now. Congrats on PRIMAL HUNGER! Celebrate wherever you are!

    • I wasn’t able to get much done in the car, unfortunately, but I do have a gameplan for tonight’s writing sessions. Just have to get the kids to bed.

      I’ll be lifting my glass of cool beverage on Friday!

      Have an awesome week, hon! And thank you SO much for the blog award! I’ll be posting on it tomorrow when my mind isn’t so bleary.

      Keep Writing!
      Dawn

Leave a Reply

