Dawn Montgomery

What do I know?

In #amwriting, Challenges, Goals on January 29, 2012 at 12:00 am

Wow, is it Sunday, already? This week has FLOWN by.

I’ll post the writing goals and my results for the entire week, then finish off with the Montgomery moving *ridiculum (for those who are willing to read that far…I commend you!).

First of all…welcome to all new subscribers to this blog. I’m pretty stoked since I had NO idea you could subscribe. 😀 Hope you find this week’s summary to be entertaining!

Summary writing events January 23-28 2012

  • Began 2nd week as a full-time writer
  • Received release date for Primal Hunger (Feb 3, 2012)
  • Entered (and won!) pitch contest held by the lovely Rockville 8 and Entangled Publishing.
  • Plotted 2nd Hunger Book
  • Thief was started (then set aside for the pitch win submission)
  • Sketched out Kitchen Witch Story

Had a ton of you guys stop by and leave comments/questions this week! I hope I answered them to your satisfaction.

Writing Goals for next week:

  • Writing 5 hours per day
  • Complete polishing of pitch submission and SEND IT IN
  • Complete Thief

Now if you’re still interested in how the move went, please continue….but be warned…it’s not pretty.

When we last left our crazy globe-trotting author, she was about to embark on a lovely jaunt to cattle country to cause mayhem and mischief. How did it go? Let’s find out…

Well…horse ranching is quite the adventure…especially when you have three dogs, four cats, a pony, and some longhorn cattle thrown into the mix for fun. Did I mention that one of the minions proved determined to pet said cattle? And that he tried to trot the smallest one out there on their own? No? Well…let’s just say the mayhem was ridiculous (and I lost about fifty years off my life!). One kiddo proved pretty allergic to something (he was wrapped up in blankets and playing nickjr on my laptop for most of a day and night while I had to keep him from scratching…then there was eye goop…ugh).

I helped out with some Quilts for Kids projects, took some pictures, and oohed and awwwwwwed over some of the quilts that had come in. SuperChef bailed on cooking after only doing it once so yours truly had to fill in. About halfway into our ranch adventure, a very large dog by the name of BIG BOY (he was a small horse, really) decided he was my lap dog. Since I love dogs, it wasn’t a hardship for me, but he WAS playing havoc on allergy-boy and any writing I needed to get done. So we had a discussion. On his level. Didn’t work so well. 😉

Saturday morning found us loaded up in the truck and sent off to our apartment. Oh heavenly apartment, how I’ve longed to lie against your carpeted…bosom? Hmm. Oh yesh. No furniture. But it’s not a hotel, ranch, car (or other vehicle), friend/stranger’s home or cardboard box…all of which were either a part of this adventure or very near.

So here we are, in lovely San Antonio. This week began with my birthday, finding a place to live, being moved out of our hotel (b/c of mismanagement several families were displaced), setting up at a ranch, and now here…in our apartment.

This trip lasted from January 13th to January 28th. What a crazy adventure.

So what do I know? I know I’m looking forward to boring. 😀

This writer is about done-in. So it’s to bed for me.

Keep Writing!

Dawn

*Ridiculum: A series of ridiculous events, usually occuring within a short period of time. Also called a Ridicularia and Ri-dik-ki-doodle. Related to Ridi-cardia…a heart attack triggered by the ridiculous. Beware the Ridiculum. BEWAAAARE.

This is a BLOG HOP! Click HERE to see other ROW80 participants

  1. Dawn -I’m flabbergasted on what you have actually achieved despite the move and chaos! That shows a strong character trait; you are no doubt destined to do greater things in life. 😀 Congrats on winning the contests & waaay to go with your new writing career (just two weeks!). I love your new goals and wish you all the success in the world so you get to where you want to go (no, not a deliberate reference to your moving experience 🙂 ). You are rocking the ROW in true style!

    I will email you when I have a mo or two.

  2. I can’t believe you got anything done with all the craziness! But you did. Yay for you! Good luck for this week, and I hope if finds you in calmer circumstances. 🙂

    • Thank you so much Lauralynn! I’m looking forward to a calm week or two. For a change. 🙂 I hope you’re feeling better soon. Joint pain isn’t fun at all!

      *hugs*
      Dawn

  3. Late happy birthday, Dawn! And huge congrats on the contest win!

    So you are in the San Antonio area, huh? I lived it Austin a couple of times in my life, and I still think of it as one of my favorite cities in the world. 🙂 Did innertubing near San Antonio, participated in GASP skirting the outskirts of San Antonio by bike and did other bike events ending up in San Antonio (all very long ago now, wouldn’t make it anymore!)

    Good luck with your goals and have a great week!

    • Isn’t it a beautiful area? I just love it here. Looking forward to taking the kids innertubing and rafting!

      Thank you for the congrats and belated birthday wishes. It has been an interesting week. 😉

      I hope you have a great week too!

      Dawn

Leave a Reply

