Dawn Montgomery

Off to the Ranch!

In Uncategorized on January 26, 2012 at 5:50 am

It’s strange how things work out. Our hotel overbooked so several families (including mine) have to find lodging elsewhere. I contacted a friend of mine (she’s in charge of Quilts for Kids in San Antonio). She knows a lot of people in the area, so I was hoping she could give us a hand about where to go. To my surprise, Ms. Barbara invited us out to her horse rescue ranch for a couple of days.

The kids are excited. I’m THRILLED. DH (SuperChef) is relieved we have a roof over our heads.

It’s the Montgomery way to pitch in and help in any way possible when someone gives you a kindness. So I’ll be spending the next couple of days cutting bits for Quilts for Kids, tending the horses, and helping to keep things tidy. The kids will help with the horses and dogs. SuperChef will be cooking up a storm. It’s the least we can do for Ms. Barbara’s willingness to take us on at the last minute.

And I’ll be researching my next book. Did I mention cowboys? Must have slipped my mind…

I also have some pretty awesome news…an editor from Entangled Publishing requested a full on a short novella. And get this…it was an online pitch contest. I NEVER get chosen on these things. How awesome is that???

Keep Writing!

Dawn

  1. […] we last left our crazy globe-trotting author, she was about to embark on a lovely jaunt to cattle country to […]

Leave a Reply

