Dawn Montgomery

Another day older…

In #amwriting, Goals, Publishing News on January 25, 2012 at 12:00 am

So yesterday was my birthday. YAY! I ate at one of my favorite restaurants and got an apartment! Woohooo!!!! No more living out of our bags. Soon-ish anyway. Can’t get in there until next week, but we’ll be good. πŸ˜€

On the writing front:

  • Plotted 2nd Hunger book (due to new publishing schedule, it got pushed up from March).
  • Started my Beauty and the Beast (Thief)
  • Entered an online pitch
  • Sketched out a Kitchen Witch story (Back by popular demand)

Found out that my first novel will be out February 3rd! Awesome. πŸ˜€ Ebook first. Print a year or so later. Love it!

Checking out Sunday’s goals:

  • Found a house! WOOHOO!
  • 5 hours of writing per day: Nope. I’ll be honest, stress over the house searching thing made Tuesday almost useless.
  • Finish up my final outprocessing for January tomorrow…more to follow in February
  • Cook dinner four times this week…tonight starts my cooking schedule. πŸ™‚

Due to tons of questions, I posted my Work Day Schedule HERE. So far, I’ve hit those goals every day but Tuesday.

I spent Monday and Tuesday nights at Writerschat for Changeling Press and Ellora’s Cave. So much fun! Didn’t promo a single thing, just hung out with some pretty awesome authors. πŸ˜€ Had a great time.

This is a Blog Hop! Check out other writers HERE.

  1. Triple woot for you!
    1. Happy birthday!
    2. Happy new abode!
    3. Happy book birthday!
    What an exciting week you’ve had. I hope you settle in to your new place and feel that it’s home very soon. Now I’m off to check out your post about your new book. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much! It’s been an insane couple of weeks now. I hope we get settled soon. All this craziness is getting to me. πŸ˜€

      Have a wonderful rest of your week!
      Dawn

  2. Happy Birthday for yesterday and hey, great news about the apartment too! And despite the upheaval you still seem to be getting lots down. Brilliant. πŸ™‚

  3. Ugh, I feel your pain on house hunting. We’re military, so every few years I go through that hell. πŸ™‚

    WTG though on what you did get done. It all counts. I’m behind in my writing time too (why is it that always gets sacrificed?)

    Have you checked out *Website deleted by administrator* ? I use it to make grocery shopping and meal planning a snap. Every week it gives you 7 days of meals with a shopping list. Shaves hours off my meal planning. There is a small fee, but I think it’s worth it. We get so many fun new recipes from it!

    • Elizabeth! Ugh, I feel your pain too, hon. I’m sure you’ll catch up soon!

      I’m sorry for deleting the website you’d provided. With the exception of a few daily life posts, I keep all links on this site as close to writing-related as possible. For those interested in the site she’d mentioned, it can be found on her twitter stream, which is linked to her name. Thank you so much!

  4. Happy birthday! Congrats on the apt and your progress. Go you! πŸ˜€

  5. Happy Birthday!! How exciting to have the book out so soon! I hope you’re enjoying your new place, and that your creativity keeps flowing!

    • Thank you so much Colleen! I can’t wait to get in there. We’ll have internet by this weekend!!! They’re letting us move in early. I love this place. πŸ˜€

  6. This sounds like great news! Congratulations on the many positive steps you’ve taken.

    Out of curiosity, who are you publishing with that stagger the release like that?

    • Thank you so much Kelly!

      I apologize for the misunderstanding…I’d originally planned to write the second book in March. My editor requested the second book so it’s been pushed up in my writing schedule. I’ll likely have it finished by early March. This particular series is with Ellora’s Cave. I hope this answers your question! πŸ™‚

      • Is that with regards to your comment about publishing in ebook form first, then hardcopy the following year?

      • That is their option with books over a certain word length. It’s in the contract. Sometimes the print book comes out earlier, sometimes later. Either way, I love Ellora’s Cave and the way they work. πŸ˜€ I hope this helps!

  7. Ah I see, I get it now. Have you had work published through them before?

  8. Congratulations on the birthday, the progress, and the new digs! I’m excited for you and your upcoming release in February. Have a terrific ROW80 week! *shaking pom-poms*

Leave a Reply

