Dawn Montgomery

Sunday update

In #amwriting, Challenges, Goals, Write Talk on January 21, 2012 at 10:00 pm

It’s check-in day for a Round of Words in 80 days.

How did I do this week?

  • Became a full-time writer on 16 January
  • Edits completed for Primal Hunger, my first novel (and EC book!)
  • Sweet Simone completed (short story aimed at Cleis Press’s Bondange Anthology)
  • Moved to Texas from Alaska this week (Took four days)
  • Lived (and still living…) in a hotel room with three kids and a husband (without a vehicle until 9 Feb)
  • Said goodbye to the military (and many great friends I’d made in the service)
  • Re-evaluated my January goals
  • Read three books from some of my favorite authors

You know…I thought I’d done pretty crappy this week. When I look at all I’ve accomplished, I’m not so disappointed. I suppose this is a prime example of why accountability is so important to a writer.

Today will be non-fiction focused as I have deadlines to complete. I’ll also be creating my 2012 writing challenge spreadsheet. I know I’m behind, but I had a LOT going on. At least I’m doing it in January instead of September like I did last year. πŸ™‚

January’s new goals:

  • 5 hours writing per day
  • Complete all final outprocessing requirements for the military (insurance, dental, etc)
  • Find a house πŸ˜‰
  • Cook dinner four times a week (I have to write it down or I’ll get sucked into writing…SuperChef will be cooking the other three nights).

January’s Writing Goals

  • Medical Mystery partial (still untitled)
  • Thief started (Modern day Beauty and the Beast novella)
  • Marked (tattoo story for EC’s theme)
  • Texas History novella fleshed out (Sexy mayhem in the pioneer town of Austin, Texas)

Pushed out to February (the month where my brother enters the Marines, and I am officially retired from the USAF)

  • A Familiar Kiss (need to print out the ms to work on it)
  • Fox Hunt (short menage in the wilds of Alaska)
  • Nexus (Sexy cyber novella)

Pushed out to March and Beyond

  • Enraptured (hot and wild fantasy adventure romance)
  • Feral Hunger (Book 2 in the Sheon Wars trilogy)

I think that’s about it, don’t you?

Oh, did I mention that my birthday is on the 24th of this month? What a start to 2012.

This is a BLOG HOP! Click HERE to see others on the list. πŸ™‚

  1. Congrats on getting the writing going full-time! Sounds like you have some great plans for the near future, even if you are behind at the moment.

  2. Wow – You RULE! Yo have so much going on and yet achieve so much. I think huge slaps on backs are called for. Try fitting a little hot bubble bath and glass of your favourite drink in occasionally, or I’ll think you’re super woman and alert the press πŸ™‚

    Good luck with the move, the acclimatisation to civvie-street and ALL of you writing projects.

    Oh – and have a super birthday πŸ˜€ XX

    • LOL. Please don’t alert the press. I’m in disguise! Truthfully, I didn’t realize how much was going on until I had to actually WRITE it down. πŸ˜€

      Good luck on your week’s goals!!

      Thanks for the birthday wishes and the wonderful comments. I hope you get tons of writing done while your hubby’s away!

      • BTW, as soon as we get settled in to a house, I’ll definitely work that bubble bath and favorite beverage celebration! Thanks for the suggestion. πŸ˜€

  3. Whoa, even though you’ve been insanely busy, you’ve still got a lot done πŸ˜€ Adjusting to full-time writing will probably be weird (I know I’d find it strange) but I bet once you do, your writing progress will skyrocket even more. Good luck for the rest of the week πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much! It IS weird. It’s like I feel like I should be doing something else. This is the first time in almost 20 years that I haven’t had a job (or two or three). I feel like I should be hitting the pavement in search of gainful employment. My editor, bless her heart, sent me my novel edits in the middle of the move (at my request) so that when I arrived in Texas, I’d be eyeballs deep in revisions. It helped keep me from panicking. Now I just have to admit to myself that it’s okay to like my job so I’ll stop feeling guilty. πŸ˜‰

  4. You’re doing awesome! I congratulate you for getting so much done on top of moving and all the other “real world” things you have going on. Good luck finding a house and with your writing goals. And happy early birthday!!

  5. I think you had a great week! And congrats on becoming a full time writer after serving our country. Thank you!

  6. WOW! You’re like…. my shero! *tear* This is awesome! AWESOME! I look forward to your progress updates. Congratulations on all of your accomplishments. Hang in there…. YOU are AWESOME! Thank you for your service.

  7. Wow – you are like Iron Woman! I’m in awe. I can’t imagine moving from Alaska to Texas (my alma mater – Hook’em Horns!) in one week and be able to spell my name right, much less keep writing.

    Happy Birthday in a couple of days!

    Judith

    • Thanks for the birthday wishes, Judith! I was kicking myself for not having more done…and then I realized we HAD moved across the country this week. It just feels like longer. I blame my unusual writing hours on that one. I’ll be, hopefully, attending UT soon πŸ˜€ Hook’em Horns!

      Keep Writing!

      Dawn

  8. hey! i’m going to be spending 3 days completely freelance (and 2 in the office) starting in february. congrats on your switch. i’m slightly nervous about scheduling myself… any tips?

    • Set yourself reasonable goals. If you write 1k an hour at your best, don’t expect to be able to do it consistently all day long (especially since the new pressure of writing away from the office might wear you down). You have to take breaks. Keep a journal for the next couple of weeks. Write down your wordcount and accomplishments (and snags) all day in the office. See what time of day you are the most successful, and consider making that your writing time away from the office. I still keep an 8+ hour work-day (no joke). My writing day goes like this:

      9-11:30am: writing on latest work in progress, do any edits needed since the morning is always a distraction-fest
      Break for Lunch, daily walk, and whatever chores need to be done (since we’re in a hotel this includes keeping the children and husband entertained). If I can get back to the wip before 8pm, it’s a phenomenal day.
      8pm-2am write on latest work in progress. From midnight to 2am I have uninterrupted writing time so I do my greatest word count. If I’ve reached my daily goal, I can go to bed earlier guilt-free. πŸ˜€

      I write in 20 minute increments using Online Stopwatch. I’ll give myself a 5-10 minute break at the end of each session. If I can keep writing, I do so. To make sure I’m not slacking, I have a scratch piece of paper next to me. I do a wordcount check and write down the total on the paper at the end of each writing session. Then a quick note about how it went. If I see too many low numbers or the same issue over and over, it gives me a chance to fix it early on. That way I don’t waste an entire workday.

      At the end of the day, I enter my totals in my excel spreadsheet, and then go through the calculations. Sometimes I’m unhappy, and will look over the day’s notes to see what went wrong. If I can fix it for the next day, I feel better. If not, then I just have to allow myself to rest. Some days at the office just aren’t as productive as others. πŸ™‚ Otherwise, I go to sleep content. πŸ™‚

      I hope this helps.

      Keep Writing!
      Dawn

  9. Happy birthday and…WOW! It sounds like you had an exciting week! A move and a career change are tough, but all in one week…that super hero status! Congrats on your life and goal changes! πŸ™‚

  10. Happy Birthday Dawn! πŸ™‚ What a beautiful day to come across your blog and a HUGE congrats for taking the initiative to becoming a full-time writer; I embarked on this trail last year about the same time as you so you have already piqued my interest. πŸ™‚

    Your goals are sound and I love how you have broken it up into months; it makes sense to make your goals SMART too. Looking forward to your progress as we continue through ROW80. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

