Dawn Montgomery

4 and 7

In #amwriting on January 9, 2012 at 9:56 pm

Until now, my life was made up of numbers. Numbers of year in the service, in rank, on station, since my last PT test, exam, etc. Evaluation reports. Feedbacks. Orders. I was always so sure of the numbers…always knew what they meant and how they affected every aspect of my career.

As my military career winds down there are only two numbers that stand out. Of course I have my retirement date, and my approximate date of household goods arrival. I also have the ever important number of the DD214, which states how honorably I served my country and where I did so.

Those are passive numbers, however. Numbers that have no direct impact on my family (yet). The numbers that I’m talking about are the numbers 4 and 7.

Four days until I say goodbye to military service, flying away from one of the most beautiful places in the world.

Seven days until I am a full-time writer.

If I can get through the four, the rest will be cake. 😉

Nothing like a little life insanity to really things in perspective. 😀

Keep Writing!

Dawn

Leave a Reply

