Dawn Montgomery

A Familiar Kiss

In #amwriting on October 26, 2011 at 9:35 am

It’s Wednesday. The very last Wednesday in October, and that means I’m in the middle of NaNoWriMo preparations. This year I’ll make a few local area write-ins. I’ll be posting pictures as well.

So what do we have for Work In Progress Wednesday? Three hours ago I finished The Other Klaus, my Christmas story, polished it up and zipped it off to my editor. Next on the list was my 25k novella: A Familiar Kiss.

A Familiar Kiss is outlined and prepped. A strange incident in the library prevented me from getting past the roughed out 215 word blurb. I had a young soldier ask me (completely at random) whether I was any good with math. When I told him yes, we spent the next hour or so working through his college homework. It felt good to give back to those who give us so much.

What can I tell you about A Familiar Kiss? It involves witchcraft, old allies and enemies, demons, and a blood legacy spanning generations. I love the characters. The home of our hero resembles the Koln cathedral, and I’ll post some images as we go along.

My sketchbook is filled with architectural elements, and personality tidbits. It should take a minimum of eight days to complete. That will push me into NaNoWriMo, but I don’t mind. My goal would be Sunday, but we’ll see.

Since I have nothing from my current WIP, here’s something from Primal Heat to tide you over:

“You know what I think?” His lips hovered close to hers.

“No. What?” She couldn’t stop the breathless hush of her voice.

“I think you want to kiss me.”

She pressed the barrel of her weapon under his chin. His lips thinned and a muscle on his cheek tightened, but other than that he could have been carved out of stone. “I said. Back. Off.” She pushed harder.

Leave a Reply

