Dawn Montgomery

NaNoWriMo Prep: Story Idea and Account Settings

In #amwriting, Goals on October 23, 2011 at 11:20 am

Hello Fellow NaNoWriMo-ers!

It’s NaNoWriMo prep-time!

This weekend was a great transitional one for me. I am in the process of closing out two projects, and have an additional full manuscript in the hands of an editor.

My family is already used to me writing at break-neck speed. This means November might be less traumatic than it has for the past few years.

Work has become far less hectic than ever. I’m also transitioning from my career to becoming a full-time writer. Before the nay-sayers have a go, let me just say…this isn’t because I want to do it now but because I have to…and that’s all I’ll say about it.

This weekend is tying up loose ends and preparation for NaNo. I’ve dropped by the site and registered for this year’s challenge. I changed my region and forum topic subscriptions. I popped in to see if there were any local groups, made a few contacts, and scoped out the site’s new design (verra nice, btw). Then came the part of writing my novel information.

There are so many possibilities. Plot bunnies fought with old stories I’d never got around to rewriting. Quite the conundrum. It wasn’t until I was combing through the archives of images on my dawnmontgomery.com site that I came across this little jewel:

There it was…a lightning strike of inspiration. Feral Intent was a story I’d planned a couple of years ago, but the plot never went anywhere. I kept the image, however, because I was pretty proud of how it turned out. Glad I did! Feral Intent is now the second book in the Sheon Wars series (Primal Heat was first). I was searching for a title, and there it was. How exciting!

NaNo Prep 2011:

  1. NaNo Prep 1: Story Ideas and NaNoWriMo site account settings
  2. NaNo Prep 2: Word Tracking and Outline Creation
  3. NaNo Prep 3: Word Sprints, IM, Chats, and More
  1. […] NaNo Prep 1: Story Ideas and NaNoWriMo site account settings […]

  2. […] « Before NaNoWriMo Prep: Story Idea and Account Settings October 23, 2011 AfterNaNoWriMo Prep: Word Sprints, IM, Chats, and More October 25, 2011 » […]

Leave a Reply

