Dawn Montgomery

A New Dawn?

In #amwriting on January 3, 2011 at 10:40 am

2011 is going to be a different year in the Montgomery household. My 13 + year career with the EDJ is coming to a close due to some medical complications (serious back injury leading to limited mobility). So now I have to set my sites on what I want to do in the future…I’m at a fork in my career and life. Do I continue down the path of a new full time EDJ with writing a passion on the side, or do I put all of my focus into my writing career with the same drive I’ve had for the EDJ all these years?

My husband and I have been working through the fog of our future. A mortgage, car payment, and three kids put things in perspective. It’s go time. There won’t be another moment in my life that will put me on the path I want for the rest of my life.

Writing is more than a passion for me…it’s a drive, a need to tell my characters’ stories…and tell them well (a skill I’ll never completely learn…I never want to become predictable).

Do I want to spend my life working my fingers to the bone for my craft? Yes. Truthfully, there is no other life I’d rather live than one where I get to play with my characters all day (while driving myself to work harder, faster, smarter). I am a hard woman to work for (when I’m the one working…) and I’m willing to run myself through the ringer repeatedly to do it.

Reader comments from the past four years have been amazing and humbling. The one cry that I keep reading over and over, however, is what I wanted to chat about. Novels. Novel-length requests are the most common complaint. I’ve heard you guys and I’ve finished my third Dawn Montgomery novel. (The first one will never see the light of day…)

New resolutions for 2011? Work. Write. Laugh. Love.

Keep Writing!

Dawn

Leave a Reply

